Teaching or Parenting?

During the past month, I had quite a few almost-fights/verbal arguments/curse-out-the-teacher moments/temper tantrums, etc. When it rains it pours I guess. All of these incidences back to back, caused me to lose a lot of my passion for teaching. It discouraged me, it beat me down, and it brought me to the bottom of my caring level. Thank God for wonderful teacher mentors. If it were not for my teaching family, I’m not sure what I would do. One of my main go-to-teachers helped encourage me and reminded me that the kids I am teaching are someone’s child. No matter what happens, I have to always remind myself of that; I have to care for them just like they would be my own. I also have to discipline and stay on top of them like they would be my own. This is probably the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. I don’t have kids, and I don’t know how to parent yet – especially teens!! And unfortunately, I am finding myself more and more of a parent than a teacher. It is totally bringing me out of my comfort zone to a place that I have never explored. I hope that it is making me stronger and better, instead of bringing me down. I hope that in time, I will be able to see how this is affecting me and my professional potential. I can end by saying that this week has been a better week. I experienced a tear-filled moment when some of my struggling students were finally grasping the concept I was teaching. It felt good, and I felt proud… almost like a parent would…

Leave a Reply

