Boasting in my weaknesses

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

Story. Of. My. Life!
At least in this current chapter this story line rings true. Nothing like having a baby to bring your weaknesses right to the surface. Since Audrey was born ten weeks ago, I have learned more about myself than I have like… ever. It is almost too much to bear at times. I have been praying my heart out for God to fix this and fix that and I keep finding myself disappointed at his lack of an answer. Paul wrote this verse when God refused to take the thorn from his side that made him uncomfortable. I feel his pain. I’m learning though, just as Paul learned that in my weaknesses I am made strong. If I could control everything about Audrey that I wanted to control, what need would I have for God? Right now I feel desperate for His grace and I sure do let him know it! I forget that this total dependence on God is a strength. I forget because I am always in control and I am told that to be a strong woman, I must control. Woman power right? Wrong! I can not do it all and I can not hold it all together. There is so much out of my control and so what? Maybe it is better this way. In fact I know it is better this way. So, while God continues to hold His mighty hand on my forehead while I fight and push against Him, I will remember this scripture.

I am strong in my weaknesses because I have allowed God control.

I am strong simply because I am weak.

My weaknesses are my strengths.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

